Sunday Stroll/Float

Mr. C and I took the kayaks out for a float yesterday. It was a perfect day for it!

As always the views were terrific!

DSCN0310

DSCN0337

DSCN0312 


Look! A heron butt!!

DSCN0309

A couple of more flattering shots.

DSCN0330

DSCN0327

Always a blur when I try to catch them in flight

DSCN0329

Clearer but a bad angle

DSCN0336

Look Schmenkie… it’s the driest thing in the world!

DSCN0319

Towards the end of our trip I was paddling along the bank and spied what I THOUGHT was a dead snapping turtle. When I went to investigate it blinked it’s eyes! It was clearly in trouble and so I made the decision to bring it home for a vet visit. Mr. C kindly offered the front of his kayak for transport. It was so weak it couldn’t even snap so his feet weren’t in danger.

DSCN0341

We got lots of questions when we arrived at the landing area.

I got it cleaned up back at the house and can see a fair amount of shell injury but more troubling is the weakness and it isn’t moving it’s feet or head. I suspect a spinal injury. I’ll be taking it to the vet this morning and will update soon.

DSCN0342

DSCN0343



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Stroll/Float

  1. caprikel says:

    A bugs hull!!!
    Purty pictures! Interested to hear about the turtle.

Leave a Reply

