Now I’m a Yakker

Mr C got a bonus and he bought me a present!

DSCN0687

Yep, that’s how he rolls… am I a lucky gal or what?!?!!

On the last day of his staycation we headed out to a local lake so I could take it out for the first time.

DSCN0799

Mr C was in his boat and I was in mine. We had walkie-talkies so we could communicate easily.

DSCN0800

DSCN0836

I was astounded by how close I could get to the different wildlife while in the kayak as apposed to being in a boat or even a canoe.

The normally skittish turtles stayed basking on their logs

DSCN0806

DSCN0820

This little dude even swam right up to me.

DSCN0830

I was able to float right directly above this big guy

Can you see him?

DSCN0822

The waterfowl seemed to not even notice me until I was right up next to them.

DSCN0801

DSCN0815

DSCN0818

The best thing was seeing the signs of another active beaver colony… lots of chewed sticks and stumps

DSCN0812

DSCN0805

Stubs of scrub trees and pathways also called ‘beaver slides’

DSCN0828

And even more exciting was being able to paddle right up to the lodge and see the underwater workings of this amazing animal

DSCN0811

DSCN0813

Hummm… apparently I didn’t take pics of the underwater structure, guess that means I’ll have to go back… darn!

I’d love to go back in the evening sometime and perhaps see the beavers themselves.

I’ve declared that the kayak is the best present EVER!

Thanks Mr C… you’re the best!

 

This entry was posted in Trips and adventures, Uncategorized, wildlife sightings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now I’m a Yakker

  1. caprikel says:

    He’s a big old hunk of honey!!! Maybe Pudge joined their community!

  2. Nan Essler says:

    Lucky gal! You will have lots of fun with that boat.

Leave a Reply

