Enjoying the Water

We took the boat out a few times last week.

We went to Lake Anna where Mr C would like to retire some day.

There were a few places for sale but probably a bit out of our price point.

IMG_20160415_120715

IMG_20160415_120842

IMG_20160415_120601

Mr. C fished without much success while I was feeling lazy and mostly just enjoyed the views.

DSCN0792

DSCN0798

We found a very active beaver lodge!

DSCN0796

These were some ambitious workers!

DSCN0794

An easy way to save your trees from beavers should you ever need to know.

DSCN0791

When we got home that evening I got a call from the local sheriff’s office asking me to get in touch with a person who was claiming to have from some abandoned otter babies!

I had the guy bring them to me and was quite sure they were NOT otters but I wasn’t exactly sure what they really were! 

I could tell they were in the mustelid family mainly because they stunk to high heaven! I suspected they were weasels.  After what happened in the chicken coop a few years ago I knew that I didn’t really want to raise these two. So the next day I delivered them to the local wildlife center. They were thrilled to be able to raise these two MINK babies!

IMG_20160416_050340004

IMG_20160416_050349293

IMG_20160416_051523642

They are super cute! I’m glad someone was happy to have them and I’ve read that they are fun to rehab but I don’t really want them here on The Hill. I wish them nothing but the best…

                                   …somewhere else! 

 

Still more from the week to show you later Smile

This entry was posted in Odds and Ends, Trips and adventures, Uncategorized, Wildlife Rehab, wildlife sightings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

