So Much For Resolutions Happy 2016

So here we are at the end of January. One of my ‘resolutions’ this year was to get back to blobbing on a regular basis. But then a series of unfortunate events derailed me right from the get-go.

The year WAS starting out great because Capri D and BFG were here! We managed to have fun even though BFG was feeling like crap. The highlight of their visit was going to Great Falls National Park in Virginia. Only an hour away and we’ve never been there. What a beautiful place.

DSCN0277

DSCN0274

DSCN0311

Even while they were here the unfortunate events began. The hard drive on my 3 year old laptop fried. I took it to get checked out and the kind computer folks at Staples pronounced it dead. (Just a couple of months after the extended warranty had expired of course.)They did their best to extract the information and many pictures stored with-in.

After BFG and Capri D headed home I went and got a brand new laptop at Costco. I was SO excited but quickly became completely frustrated when the new laptop would have nothing to do with my comcast e-mail account and therefore nothing to do with my microsoft account because it was associated with my comcast e-mail account. I won’t bore you with the details but things are still not working properly. I am trying to muddle through.  I NEED an in-house tech fairy to help me through this crap. And may I say right now that comcast tech ‘support’ is H.O.R.R.I.B.L.E.

During that frustrating time I got sick… really sick. I didn’t leave the house or the couch for a week. Except of course for all of the critter care which can’t be ignored no matter what.

All through December we had record high temps and down right balmy temperatures. Then in January winter hit with a vengeance and we had record cold temps which promptly caused the beautiful new beaver pond to crack and leak even though I diligently kept the filter running and the water from freezing. Having the empty pond presented a host of other concerns and the beavers had to be moved out of their enclosure to a much smaller one.

DSCN0361

This all happened right as the storm of the century was bearing down on us and the only thing I could do was drain the water and wait it out.

Maybe having to move the beavers was a blessing because I was able to completely cover the small enclosure and keep them from being buried in the snow.

DSCN0367

Maybe the now empty pond was a blessing because I had someplace to put the almost 40 inches of snow that filled the enclosure!! That’s right FOURTY!

DSCN0425

It’s going to be awhile until I can get the pond fixed which makes taking care of BB and Matilda MUCH more labor intensive and they are NOT happy with the substitute for the pond!

DSCN0442

Neither am I.

And now I’ll leave you with a few current pics of the grounds here on Sassy Cat Hill.

DSCN0389

DSCN0405

DSCN0419

DSCN0422

DSCN0430

Happy 2016

DSCN0434

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Around the House, Friends and Family, Opinions, Sassy Cat Hill House, Gardens and Other Stuff, The New Baby Beaver Chronicles, Trips and adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So Much For Resolutions Happy 2016

  1. caprikel says:

    Yay, a post!!!
    I can’t believe all that snow!
    Brutus is a healthy BALL of cat.
    Praying February is a bit more uneventful!

  2. deb says:

    So sorry you were sick, and for all the unfortunate happenings! We had a wonderful time with you over the New Year, a memorable start for 2016. I too am praying for a calmer and easier February.

Leave a Reply

