All About The Bling

My MaMa didn’t wear a lot of jewelry. What she did tend to wear were big bright earrings to match the outfit she was wearing, or if she was going to a special occasion she might throw on a necklace to jazz herself up a bit. I’m very much the same. Especially since cleaning up animal poop doesn’t really call for too much bling.

One of the times I went to visit her before she died she called me into the bedroom of her apartment and asked me if I would like anything from her little jewelry box. There wasn’t a lot in there. Since opal is my birthstone, I chose an opal ring that my dad had given her and also a raw opal that she told me my dad had found when he was in Australia recovering from injuries sustained in WWII.

The opal ring was not very attractive because of the setting it was in, but the stone was stunning. I never wore it because I thought it looked odd on my finger.

WIN_20150911_06_39_53_Pro

The setting reminded me of one of those old ball key chains. I had thoughts of turning it into a necklace or something.

The raw opal barely looked like an opal at all. There was a lot of rough stone still covering the actual gem. It never occurred to me to take a photo of it for a before picture. It wasn’t much to look at but the history was special and MaMa had saved it for many years.

I was fortunate to meet and become friends with a wonderful artist here in Virginia. She is multi-talented in that she draws, paints, and designs and makes beautiful jewelry.

I showed her the ring and asked her if she thought she could do anything to make it prettier. She was sure that she could. So one afternoon I took it over to her place and at the last minute I decided to take her the raw opal as well to ask her if she could do anything with that. I gave her free reign to do whatever her spirit moved her to do with it.

Yesterday she brought both pieces back to me and I was stunned with what she had created! The opal in the ring could not be removed from the unattractive setting so she MADE it attractive.

 

WIN_20150911_07_40_13_Pro

I adore it!

What she did with the raw opal brought me to tears. She removed the outer stone surrounding the gem inside . She polished and shined that baby up and wrapped it with a design of swirls from sterling silver wire.

WIN_20150911_06_13_51_Pro (2)

I adore it!

I wish MaMa could have seen what that plain little stone she had saved all those years became. I know she would have loved it.

I took these photographs with my laptop camera so they do not do justice to the fine craftsmanship in these pieces.

If you’re interested in any custom made bling by this wonderfully talented artist you can find her on Pinterest…  https://www.pinterest.com/featheredmane/ 

Or Facebook… https://www.facebook.com/The-Feathered-Mane-293829760640293/timeline/

Or Etsy… https://www.etsy.com/shop/TheFeatheredMane?ref=shop_sugg

You can also see her other artwork at … https://www.facebook.com/Bryarpatch-Artistry-390468377906/timeline/

or… http://www.bryarpatch.com/

This entry was posted in Friends and Family, I'm Thankful for, memories, Odds and Ends, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to All About The Bling

  1. deb says:

    So beautiful! I’m amazed at how different colored the stones are.

  2. Penny says:

    Wow She did an amazing job! That necklace is breath taking. Just gorgeous!

  3. Carolyn Nord says:

    I think that maybe your mom’s loving spirit directed the hands of your talented artist friend to make it as special for you as you were to your mom!

  4. caprikel says:

    Beautimous!!!!! Your Mama would be proud!

  5. vickie hunt (kup) says:

    I’m so glad you were able to take a precious memory and turn it into fabulous! Every time you wear them, you will have that memory close to your heart and a hand to help others.

Leave a Reply

