Well What Do You Know… I Have a Neurological Disorder!

Something popped up on my facebook page this morning and I decided to do a little research on it because of some recent events that have been causing me great distress.

misophonia 6

That s called misophonia or selective sound sensitivity disorder 4s march _3401678c55882c90f84ef0f310a15ed7

For as long as I can remember certain sounds have driven me absolutely batty.

Sounds that most people do not even really notice in their day to day lives.

The sound of utensils scraping on plates.

misophonia6

Slurping sounds

misophonia 5

Chewing sounds

misophonia 4

Gum popping

misophonia 2

Any repetitive noise really

I’ve always attributed my seemingly over reaction to certain sounds to PMS or being overly tired.

But after reading about this disorder I’m POSITIVE I have it!

While I guess it makes me feel better that I’m not alone it doesn’t make it any easier.

misophonia 3

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Well What Do You Know… I Have a Neurological Disorder!

  1. Nan Essler says:

    Just like me! I get the urge to kill when someone pops gum near me. Door slamming evokes the same response, after a string of curses. Etc., etc., etc.

    • caprilis says:

      When I used to get mad at Mom and Dad for scraping their dishes or slurping their soup Mom used to say “You’re just like your Aunt Nan!” Did you know it was an actual disorder?

  2. Laurie says:

    Knowing what it is can be the first step in making it better. Now, instead of going crazy, you can politely ask someone to stop because of your condition !!

    • caprilis says:

      Yep!
      Someone online even had business cards made up to pass out to people. I don’t think I’ll get that bad… I’m usually able to grit my teeth and bear it as long as I know it’ll only be temporary.

  3. Laurie says:

    The other option is to become hard of hearing. That, too, has its problems!!!

Leave a Reply

