My Matilda

The new beaver-girl’s name is Matilda.

I found a source on the internet for female German names and their meanings. I chose the name Matilda for a few reasons.

The meaning is Battle maiden. Surely this girl has fought through many battles in the year or so she’s been alive.

She just LOOKS likes a Matilda.

And finally, my mom used to call me Matilda once in awhile when I was a kid. I have no idea why.

She and I have made great strides together since she’s been here. Many long tick removal treatments and baths. She has been amazingly sweet and patient through all of it. Never once has she made an aggressive or defensive move toward me.

She is now eating almost non stop! Once her appetite kicked in she ate until she was so full she couldn’t swallow any more and her mouth was stuffed with leaves and apple pieces and I actually had to take them out of her mouth so she wouldn’t choke. And she LET me!

DSCN1178

DSCN1183

I believe I have gotten almost all of the ticks off her. Every once in awhile I’ll find some new ones that must have been to small for me to feel sooner.

DSCN1173

I’m spoiling her  as much as I can.

This entry was posted in Baby Beaver Saga 2014, Wildlife Rehab. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Matilda

  1. Laurie says:

    She already looks spoiled — and quite proud of herself.
    I think Mom use to call each of us girls “Matilda” on ocassion. Maybe her Mom did it to her as well.

  2. Nan Essler says:

    Matilda sure lucked out landing in your arms! She deserves some spoiling.

  3. Capri K says:

    Welcome to The Hill Matilda!
    Your tick picking sessions remind me of the nit picking sessions I had with Mousey about 16-17 years ago! She was so patient I gave her a new stuffed kitty.
    Glad she is being so sweet, makes it a lot easier to care for her needs.

  4. Christine S. says:

    I’m glad that Matilda is doing so much better! She looks so healthy now.

Leave a Reply

