A New Addition to The Hill

Yesterday I got a call about a young beaver in trouble so I made the arrangements and went and got her.

This poor girl is in really rough shape. She’s just skin and bones.

DSCN1144

 

She has a bite out of her tail like Pudge had!

DSCN1143

A college student  found her along a walking trail, laying on her side and covered with flies. He thought she was dead. He found online and called my ‘beaver mentor’ in New York and she got him in touch with me.

Once I got a look at her I knew we had a long road ahead of us. She is extremely underweight and absolutely COVERED with deer ticks. The ones around and inside her ears, around her eyes, and covering her face are the ones that you can actually see. What you can’t see, because of a beavers thick fur, is that most of her body is also covered.

DSCN1153

DSCN1149

DSCN1158

 

I took her to see the vet and had blood work done, and x-rays. So we know for sure that she has no broken bones and that she is indeed a girl. She is probably about a year old. She is anemic, has pneumonia, and her blood sugar was very low.

I started on the tick removal process and antibiotics yesterday and got her settled into the greenhouse until we know she’s healthy enough to introduce to B.B.

This one is old enough to have learned some natural beaver behavior from her family so I’m praying that she and BB get along well and the knowledge can be passed along. If they DON’T get along I’m not sure what the heck I’m gonna do!!

All prayers and good thoughts are appreciated!

 

This entry was posted in Baby Beaver Saga 2014, Wildlife Rehab. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A New Addition to The Hill

  1. Laurie says:

    Prayer for the little gal and you, too.

  2. You got this… She is a lucky gal to have found her way to you…

  3. BFG says:

    if there is a place in Heaven for critter compassion I here-by nominate Sister Lisa to sainthood
    and Mr.C too

  4. Capri K says:

    Yes Mr C too, he is an excellent daddy!
    Oh dear, that poor girl! Praying for recovery and your tick picking skills.
    Is her name DeeDee?

  5. deb says:

    How do your remove ticks? I hope there is some sort of bath for that.

    • caprilis says:

      If she was in better condition we would use Revolution drops, but since she’s so thin and weak I’m using a diluted flea and tick spray made for kittens and cats and then scraping them off. This will have to be done mulitple times until they are all gone. It’s a long process but thankfully she seems to enjoy it for the most part.

  6. warrenp94 says:

    Wow she looks miserable! I am so glad I came a day late to read so that I could see that she is already much improved! You are a great friend to critters!

Leave a Reply

