The Cupola

There was a martin house that used to be up at our cottage many years back. I’m not really sure where it came from. I’m fairly certain that my dad didn’t make it. Do any of my siblings know anything about it? Please share if you do.

Anyway, when mom and dad used to come and stay with us at our home in Greensboro, dad asked me if I would like to have it since there were no martins coming to it up at the cottage, of course I said yes since I had always loved it. We lived down the road from a beautiful lake that had many martins around so I guess dad thought we had a better chance at luring them to use the house. He hauled it from Michigan to North Carolina and we put it up. No martins. Lots of starlings and sparrows.

When we moved to Virginia we hauled it along with us and put it up, again, no martins. Lots of starlings and sparrows.

Eventually we took it down and it has been sitting under our front porch for years. I finally had the inspiration to mount it on top of my potting shed as a cupola. Last weekend I painted it and Mr.C and I got it up there. I’m sure we won’t get martins, but perhaps some of my future baby squirrels will make use of it… or even starlings or sparrows. I don’t really care, I just like seeing it up there.

Before…

DSCN1107

And now…

DSCN1108

This entry was posted in Around the House, Sassy Cat Hill House, Gardens and Other Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Cupola

  1. deb says:

    That looks just so sweet up there.

  2. Laurie says:

    The martin house is not in my memory bank — maybe it came later. It is awfully cute, so I think I would have remembered it Anyway — we do have martins up here now. The purple ones are especially pretty.

  3. Capri K says:

    That looks right nice!

  4. JoanieK says:

    Super cute! You will have to keep us updated when you get new residents!

Leave a Reply

