Wally and the Pool Party

So yesterday I released Wally the European Starling. Well actually, he kind of released himself when I put my hand in the cage to feed him breakfast! He flew strongly into the locust trees in the back yard.

While we had him in the house we kept repeating “Hey good lookin!” because I found out that starlings are excellent talkers. I thought hearing that every day would be a good positive thing to hear if he learned to say it!

So after he took off, I’d go in the yard a yell “Hey good lookin!” and he would squawk at me from wherever he was in the trees. We worked outside most of the day and he even flew down for food a few times when I yelled it to him. Later in the afternoon he didn’t answer me and I wondered if I’d see him again.

By evening I still hadn’t heard or seen him. I went up to take a shower and a while later Mr. C came into the bathroom with Wally in hand! Apparently, while he was ‘missing’ he had headed over to Neighbor Mike’s who was having a big pool party. According to Mike, Wally would join the kids floating on rafts in the pool and generally just made a nuisance of himself begging for treats!

They finally brought him to me thinking I would know how to take care of him. Mr.C informed them that I have been taking care of him for the past few weeks!

Apparently I’ve raised a party-bird!

DSCN0836

He is back incarcerated until I know he can feed himself instead of begging total strangers to put stuff into his mouth!

This entry was posted in Wildlife Rehab. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wally and the Pool Party

  1. Laurie says:

    You’ve created a monster — even if he is good looking!!! I would think kids in a pool would get a big kick out of a bird joining in their fun.

  2. Nan Essler says:

    I got a laugh out of this story!

  3. Penny says:

    Hahahaha! I love this! I had no idea that Starlings could talk. I hope Wally will learn so you can show us a video! Such a cute story, Lisa. I got a chuckle out of it! And Wally sure is a handsome bird.

  4. JoanieK says:

    Hahaha! This cracked me up!

  5. Christine S. says:

    It sounds like Wally isn’t quite ready to be on his own yet 🙂 Thank you for posting the photos and stories – I’ve been enjoying seeing how BB and CC and doing. BTW – I met you husband at the 2 week training classes for our company in May, and he told me about your blog.

Leave a Reply

