Can She Bake A Cherry Pie

When we first moved to The Hill 17 years ago I planted a Montmorency Cherry tree. I did so because I have fond memories of the one that grew in our backyard at the home where I grew up in Detroit.

I can remember my dad checking the tree when he got home from work each day to see if they were ready to be picked. I can remember him announcing “Tomorrow is picking day!” I remember him standing on an old wooden stepladder to get the ones highest in the tree. I remember him singing “Can she bake a cherry pie Johnnie boy, Johnnie boy…” to my mom. I can remember my mom rolling her eyes!  My dad didn’t get excited about a lot of things but he did love those cherries and all of the wonderful pies and jams my mom made with them. No matter what mom made with them dad would always, ALWAYS get the one wayward pit that hadn’t been discarded.

Anyway, back to The Hill… that tree I planted grew very well and started bearing fruit, but every single year as soon as they started to ripen the mockingbirds converged and we never got a single cherry! Soon it had gotten so big that it was shading the area where I had my vegetable garden so I told my neighbor down the road that if he wanted to dig it up with his tractor he could have it. He came and dug it up, yanked it out of the ground and literally dragged it home with a chain. I held out no hope whatsoever that it would live. Well, not only did it live but THEY get cherries on it every year and the birds don’t come to THEIR house and eat them all!

Ticks me off!

This year the neighbors are off camping and I went down to check on their chickens, ducks, and guineas and I noticed that the tree was loaded with lovely ripe cherries. I couldn’t resist.

DSCN0825

And this is what I remember most about cherry picking time back in the day…

DSCN0824

DSCN0827

Having to pit those suckers using a hairpin! Now that is NOT a FOND memory.

DSCN0828

Maybe that’s why Daddy always got that wayward pit…. hummmmmmm

I didn’t make a cherry pie, but I did make a low-carb cherry crisp…

DSCN0829

it smells delicious!

This entry was posted in Around the House, memories, Odds and Ends. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Can She Bake A Cherry Pie

  1. Penny says:

    The crisp looks delicious! Such sweet cherry picking memories you have. We planted a Montmorency Cherry tree last year and this spring it was loaded with beautiful blooms, but only ended up with 5 cherries. The other blooms jdidn’t result in cherries at all 😦 I’m hoping it’s just new to blooming and figures the whole thing out by next year!

  2. Laurie says:

    What a wonderful trip down memory lane! I can hear Dad and see Mom’s eyes. I remember that hairpin vividly. But I ‘d still rather pit cherries than pick blueberries!!

  3. deb says:

    Yum! Even though i wasn’t there, I can picture dad and mom…..

  4. Nan Essler says:

    It makes my mouth water!

  5. Capri K says:

    I WANT SOME CRISP!!!!!!!!
    God bless you for pitting that pile, you have the patience of Job!

Leave a Reply

