Playing In Watercolors

I bought an inexpensive watercolor set just to give it a try. I love painting with acrylics, but I found myself trying to achieve details that frankly, I’m just not good enough, or patient enough to make happen.  Watercolor  appeals to me because it’s naturally a looser style of painting and I don’t seem to stress as much about it. I really like the surprise factor of what the paint does on it’s own after it’s applied to the wet paper.

This was my second attempt… a little mini, wet on dry

DSCN0285

And my third painting. It’s way over-worked and I’m not crazy about it.

DSCN0283

And here’s my third, still on the easel… I am pretty happy with this one so far.

DSCN0284

I’ve also been working on a new mosaic, another rooster.

Guess I’ve been feeling artsy lately.

This entry was posted in Explorations in paint. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Playing In Watercolors

  1. Laurie says:

    I’m certain Deb got you started on the watercolors — your pictures are wonderful. I recently read a novel about an artist who worked in oils. She had an interesting (and scary) take on watercolors. I shared the quote with Deb, did she share it with you?

    • caprilis says:

      Well, Deb gave me a nudge. I bought the paint and paper quite awhile ago, but when they came to visit we watched a couple of instructional videos and I finally decided to give it a whirl. Deb is such an inspiration when it comes to trying new artsy things!
      And no, she did not share the quote…

  2. deb says:

    I happen to like your horse very much, I love the flowing lines and expressive use of colors.

  3. deb says:

    I found the quote: “Watercolors. Sophie had always scoffed at them. They frustrated her with their inflexibility. Once she put down a stroke of watercolor, she could not change it. If she did not like it, she had to throw out the expensive paper and begin again. The idea of working directly on a surface, and taking her chances, was frightening.” I don’t share the same viewpoint, though….I would make it work, or just do better on the next one.

  4. deb says:

    The quote is from the book “Broken Colors” by Michele Zackheim. Its a book I look forward to reading this summer!

  5. JoanieK says:

    The chickadee gets my vote as absolute favorite. So darn cute! You really have a talent for watercolor!

Leave a Reply

