Good-bye 2013

Well Happy New Year! Better late than never right?!

The end of 2013 went by in kind of a fog.

Capri D and BFG came to ring in the new year! Sorry for the blurry photos.

DSCN9997

DSCN0001

New year’s day we went to witness the release of a bald eagle that had been hit by a car.

He had two broken wings and internal injuries but the folks at the Blue Ridge Wildlife Center fixed him up and he flew away strong!

DSCN0024

That was a wonderful distraction from losing our boy Kubota to liver failure the day before they arrived.

100_3342

100_3291

100_3279

 

He was such a sweet soul.

I’m sure there are plenty of things to blob about that happened last year but right now nothing much is coming to me.

Let’s start fresh… I’m going to steal Mrs. Schmenkman’s list format

I’m back on the low-carb bandwagon. I’ve GOT to get this weight gain under control!

I’ve managed to lower my cholesterol drastically with supplements and changing my diet without losing a pound… how does THAT happen?

I’m keeping busy helping to plan our Groundhog Day fundraiser for Valley Wildlife. I’m in charge of running the silent auction.

I may have to strangle Capri D for showing me how to play Candy Crush Saga! What a time sucker!

I do tell myself that I’m exercising my brain.

I’ve got a hankering to try water color painting. Capri D and I watched some how-to videos online and it looks fun.

We’re back to doing some walking and my ankle is feeling good! But now I’m having trouble in my left foot with pain in my arch and heal. Pretty sure it’s Planter Fasciitis. Not fun!

Just lost a few plants in the greenhouse during the recent ‘polar vortex’

I’m doctoring an injured bantam hen. Something tried to get her through the fence but she got away with a terribly bruised leg and some skin tears.

I rescued a goose that couldn’t walk on the ice covered pond.

Mr. C and I are going to build some easels today to display artwork at the aforementioned fundraiser.

That’s a long enough list for today.

I’m determined to be a better blogger this year…

but y’all need to be better COMMENTERS in order to keep me motivated!

Happy New Year!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Friends and Family, The Sassy Cats, Uncategorized, Wildlife Center, Wildlife Rehab. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Good-bye 2013

  1. Capri K says:

    Woo Hoo a post!!!!!!!!!!
    I tell you, the handy dandy list format is a lifesaver! Looking forward to reading about all of your adventures in 2014!

  2. Laurie says:

    As CapriK knows, I really like the “list format”. There always seems to be so many little tidbits to ponder. And if I need clarification, I can always ask for more details.
    Sorry to hear about the loss of Kubota. But great work on the eagles, chickens and geese !

  3. deb says:

    Really loved starting out 2014 on the Hill! But, I must say that I opened a door that you CHOSE to walk through! My tablet broke so I am not playing quite so much, and just before it broke I made a vow to only play while I am on the elliptical machine. I will immensely enjoy reading your more frequent newsy posts!

  4. Penny says:

    I’m heartbroken to hear you lost Kubota 😦 I’m so very sorry. It’s been a tough winter so far. Hoping 2014 will be a good one for you!

  5. JoanieK says:

    Hi Aunt Lisa!

    I vow to be a better commenter (and less stalkerish this year)! Ben and I are always interested to see what is going down on your little sliver of paradise. To a very happy 2014!

    Love,

    Joanie

Leave a Reply

