Since You Asked

About the ankle surgery.

About a year ago I took a step and felt a really sharp pain in my  right ankle. I limped around for awhile and finally went to the doc who took x-rays and told me to keep icing it and drawing the alphabet with my foot several times a day. Nothing much helped it.

Went back and he shot some steroids into my ankle joint and that didn’t help either.

It hurts. Not a horrible pain most of the time, but every once in awhile I get really sharp pains and it’s swollen almost all of the time. An M.R.I. showed some tearing in the tendons on the outside of my ankle.

Doc said that since it hadn’t gotten any better in a year it probably needed to be repaired surgically.

Since it’s interfering with my life in the sense that I can’t do any good hiking and I have to be super mindful of how I’m setting my foot on the ground all of the time, I decided to go ahead and try to have it fixed. There’s no guarantee that the surgery will work, but I’m hopeful.

I have it done on October 3rd. Any prayers and good vibes sent my way on that day will be greatly appreciated.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Since You Asked

  1. Laurie says:

    I had an avulsion fracture in my left ankle in May. I wore a brace for awhile and now manage pretty well — but I’m very aware that it could “tip over” once again, and more easily than before.
    Some days it’s swollen, others not so bad but it certainly doesn’t move like the other one. I bought myself a nice walking stick at the Fall Festival.
    Hope the surgery works out well for you. Will keep you on the prayer list. and let me know how it turns out. Love ya, Seester.

  2. Capri K says:

    The old grey mares ain’t what they used to be. Praying for SUCCESS!

  3. deb says:

    Will pray the surgery works on that trick ankle…

  4. Barb says:

    Prayers that the surgery will be successful and your recovery smooth and quick!

Leave a Reply

