Catching Up…

Wow… where did May go?

So MUCH to blog about and yet I’ve been missing in action yet again.

After my last post I came down with a miserable illness. Much coughing, sore throat, and general misery. Then Schmenky came for our annual Memorial weekend extravaganza. I will refer you to her blob for the run down on that since she has summed things up nicely in her last few posts. Click here

The biggest news is that Pudge has left The Hill.

Things did NOT go as planned.

The PLAN was to take him to that secluded pond and release him. Naturally I had mixed feelings about that. I know that he is a wild animal and that even though I raised him for over two years he needed to go out a be a real beaver. Still, to take him so far from home and just LEAVE him there to fend for himself gave me much angst. I would feel like I was abandoning him in a place with no familiar sounds, no familiar smells… no familiar anything !

As it turned out, Pudge took matters into his own paws and decided to leave The Hill on his own.

I was just finishing vacuuming his pond when he came out for his afternoon walk. He pushed open his gate and walked around by the greenhouse which is a completely fenced area so I knew I had time to wrap up the vacuum hose and put it back without him getting into trouble. So that’s what I did. But when I went back… only a minute or so later… he was no where to be found! I searched until sundown in complete shock that I couldn’t find him. Beavers don’t move that fast on land!

I’m still not sure how he managed to slip past me and keep himself hidden.

Needless to say I was devastated for the next couple of days. Feeling guilty for not keeping my eyes on him for every second. Worried sick.

But the more I thought about it I realized that there are several ponds in this area and a couple of creeks as well. He really did have just as good of a chance to survive around here as he had at the planned release site.

Here he is smelling familiar smells and hearing familiar sounds. I didn’t abandon him, he abandoned US!

So if you don’t mind, please say a little prayer for my Pudge that he stays safe and lives a happy, safe and long beaver life.

And if you’ve got an extra prayer in you, can you say one for me and Mr C too? We miss him.

This entry was posted in Around the House, The New Baby Beaver Chronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Catching Up…

  1. Capri K says:

    Oh my goodness!!!!! I guess he solved the dilemma on his own. Praying for him and you guys, I know you will miss him a LOT.
    Hope he finds a girlfriend on his way to the watering hole!

  2. Penny says:

    Oh no!!! I know this is so sad for you and Mr. C 😦 I guess it really was time for him to cut the apron strings. I bet he’s splashing around with another cutie somewhere close by. Maybe he’ll pop in for a visit in the not too distant future 🙂

  3. Laurie says:

    Those kids!!! When you least expect it, they assert their independence and hit the road. Will pray he does well — you and Cam as well.

  4. deb says:

    Wow, what a surprise, and a blessing in disguise. He is a resourceful guy and will pray he does just fine.

Leave a Reply

