Please forgive me, I’ve been celebrating!

I’m a half a century old!!

A milestone birthday for sure!

My wonderful sister sent me a plane ticket so I could come up to The Mitten and spend nearly a week celebrating with the Capris and many family members.

And celebrate we did!

Art shows, eating, gardens, eating, birthday party, eating, A KITTEN, eating….

… you get the picture. 

I didn’t take nearly as many pictures as I usually do, but here’s a look back on my birthday week.

First up… A trip to Grand Rapids to visit Meijer Sculpture Gardens.

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 001

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 007

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 008

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 011

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 025

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 027

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 023

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 038

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 039

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 047

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 079

I could easily have spent a full day in these gardens alone but we had a packed schedule for the day ahead!

After lunch in the gardens we went over and saw 2011’s winner of the Grand Rapids Art Prize show. A gorgeous mosaic… it was unbelievably stunning and thought provoking…

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 095

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 091

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 092 

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 094

Miejer Gardens and Grand Rapids Art Prize 2012 093

Then we headed over to check out this year’s Art Prize 2012 entries, I’ll posts pics of those next time!

 

This entry was posted in Friends and Family, I'm Thankful for, mosaics, Trips and adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Please forgive me, I’ve been celebrating!

  1. CapriP says:

    So much fun spending time with you! Love you!

  2. Capri K says:

    It was a whole lotta culture that day!!!!

  3. deb says:

    A day to remember fondly! I want to go to the sculpture gardens in all the different seasons.

Leave a Reply

