Another Painting

Last Wednesday’s paint class was stressful for me.

We were to paint a hummingbird with a couple of fuchsia blooms.

I was excited to do it because hummingbirds and fuchsias both remind me of my mom.

I absolutely HATED what I did with the flowers and kept trying to redo them and I kept making them worse. Finally I just painted them out using the background (sky) color with the thought of starting over. I never even GOT to painting the hummingbird which is what I really wanted to paint the most. I left class feeling pretty defeated and thinking that I should probably just stick with mosaics. I came home and repainted the flowers and still hated it. So I put it all aside and found a different picture to try to paint. I’m still not happy with the results of the flowers, but I’m fairly pleased with how the hummingbird turned out.

DSCN4852

DSCN4853

DSCN4854

Still very amateurish, but I AM an amateur, so I need to learn to cut myself a little bit of slack.

I guess I’ll keep trying.

 

This entry was posted in Explorations in paint. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Another Painting

  1. capriP says:

    Looks awesome to me!
    What is that kitty getting into behind you? 🙂

    • caprilis says:

      It’s the backpack I keep my painting stuff in… he is OBSESSED with stealing my brushes!!

    • Emily says:

      haha I was just about to ask the same thing! Curious kitty!

      Btw, I think you did a pretty darn good job for an “amateur”!

  2. Capri K says:

    “amateur,” if that’s what you are, then I am a kindergartner!

    It is most lovely!

    Looks like your son Casey has his nose in your pocketbook!

  3. deb says:

    I would be jumping up for joy if it were mine 🙂

  4. Laurie says:

    I think it’s pretty darn good, especially the hummer. Pick another flower for him to visit !!!

  5. Ummm, you’re a delusional goober. What problems could you possibly have with those flowers??? Welcome to MY world, Darling. 😉

    • caprilis says:

      I’m not even in the same universe as you when it comes to painting.
      Problems with the flowers… clumpy paint, shaky lines, bad shading and highlighting… and if you only KNEW how long it took me to do them… embarrassing!

  6. vickie hunt (KUP) says:

    Love the hummer! He is so life like! Don’t give up on the flowers. You can do it!

  7. Pingback: A Present From Schmenky « No Whining Allowed

Leave a Reply

