Happy Friday

I knew it would happen, it IS only March, but this made me feel oh so sad…

Spring arrangements Chesley 001

These are old time mop head hydrangeas. They bloom from buds formed on previous years stems. So if we get prolonged cold temps the buds will die and there will be little or no bloom. Because of this strangely warm winter, I had leaves popping all the way to the top of the stems! I was looking forward to some massive blooms this year. Earlier this week we had a hard freeze and all of the leaves are brown and mushy. I have no idea if one freeze will have also killed the future blooms, I guess only time will tell.

The freeze didn’t kill off all of the blooms around here though. I went to do some flower arrangements at Chesley this morning and I used the beautiful dogwood branches, crabapple branches and purple plum branches in them.

Dining room arrangements

Spring arrangements Chesley 008

Spring arrangements Chesley 009

Parlor arrangement

Spring arrangements Chesley 010

Kitchen pass-through

Spring arrangements Chesley 002

Spring arrangements Chesley 004

And this one will be placed on the mailbox post before the big gathering tomorrow.

Spring arrangements Chesley 006

I surely hope I’ll be able to make some hydrangea arrangements this summer.

This entry was posted in Around the House, Chesley, Flower arrangements. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Friday

  1. Laurie says:

    Lovely flower arrangements. What’s going on at Chesley this weekend? (I wasn’t invited, whatever it is !!)
    Sorry for your hydrangea loss.

    • caprilis says:

      Thank you! They are hosting a fundraiser for troops coming back from the war with post traumatic stress disorder. Don’t feel bad, I wasn’t invited either.

  2. capriP says:

    Me neither……..oh well!

  3. Capri K says:

    I was, but I declined. HA!
    You have been a busy kitty! Very BEAUTIMOUS!

  4. Zona says:

    LOVE these arrangements. Especially the last two! And LOL at CapriK. 🙂

Leave a Reply

