What Little I Know

The vet at the BRWC is fairly certain that she could feel a penile bone in our new baby so we’re calling BOY!

His back story is sketchy at best…

Some people said that they saw him “fall out of a tree” into the Potomac River. With no lodge or parent beaver in sight they decided to rescue him and called the BRWC for help. He was transferred to them and they called me to ask if I would be willing to take him. I didn’t really give myself time to think before I said yes. After I hung up the phone is when the freaking out started! A two year commitment, being a full time parent… (yes, it’s like raising a child!), the “no, we can’t do that because we have a baby beaver” answer to every time we want to take a vacation or whatever, the possible heartbreak of him not making it, and the known future heartbreak of having to release him back into the wild.

Oh Lord, why are you doing this to me right after the enclosure was JUST taken down. I hardly slept a wink that night.

But when I saw that face for the first time my heart melted and all of those worries melted away with it! (Well, not completely!)

What a blessing he already is! We had a rocky first day, he wasn’t eating and I could tell he was very afraid and depressed. We spent a lot of time holding him and comforting him. He slept in a crate in the guest room overnight and ate a little bit this morning. He isn’t nearly as vocal as Jerri Mathers and Paddy were, but I’m guessing that will change as he integrates himself into the family and his new life here on The Hill.

Dad and baby bonding…

DSCN2391

 

A name???

When I got the call about a new baby beaver coming in, Mr.C. was watching the Nationals baseball team on t.v….

They were interviewing Pudge Rodriguez who seemed to be the star of the game.

As I was sitting there processing the shock that our lives we’re about to be turned upside down with another baby beaver to raise, the thought crossed my mind that ‘Pudge’ would make a cute name. Of course we didn’t know if it would be a boy or girl yet so it was just a passing thought. I ran it by Mr.C. and he liked it but we were still waiting to see if it really suited his personality. So far it fits, but it’s isn’t in stone yet. I like all of the rhyming possibilities that are sure to come with the name Pudge! Also, I like the thought of another ‘P’ name.

So stick with us as we begin the New Baby Beaver Chronicles here on Sassy Cat Hill!

 

This entry was posted in The New Baby Beaver Chronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Little I Know

  1. deb says:

    We all love the name Pudge.

  2. warren says:

    I am so excited for you and the name is great!

Leave a Reply

