An Old Friend and a Parable

So yesterday was such a fun day. I met one of my bestest friends from high school in Fredericksburg Virginia.

We found each other through Facebook and realized that we are only a few hours away from each other!

Life and circumstances managed to come between us for many years, but there is love and so many memories between us that we were bound to come back together at some point.

The day went by far to fast with us just chattering away trying to catch up with each other’s lives.

One extra great thing was that we were able to meet at HOBBY LOBBY!!  And we both LOVE Hobby Lobby!

Many years ago she worked at a stained glass shop she taught me much of what she learned there. I got several sheets of glass for my mosaics and I think she’s got the bug to start working with glass again.

So here is a pic from back in our skinny days, we were at my cousin’s wedding

IMG_9816

And here she is in the old house we used to share and with my old dog , ‘Aja Majestic Falling Star’… Aja, my beautimus Afghan Hound. (forgive the picture quality, I had to take pictures of the pictures)

Kristi 001 meeting with Kritter 1-22-11 005

And her on our senior trip to Myrtle Beach…

Kristi 002

And here we are yesterday. (as you can see I taught her my tricks)

meeting with Kritter 1-22-11 001 

I’m sure we’ll be seeing lots more of each other now… great fun! Thanks Kritter!

And now for the parable, when I came home yesterday I found a beautiful sympathy card from Mr.C’s cousin in Canada. She enclosed a parable that I simply love and want to share with you…

A Parable of Immortality by Henry Van Dyke

I am standing upon the seashore.

A ship at my side spreads her white sails to the morning breeze and starts for the blue ocean.

She is an object of beauty and strength, and I stand and watch until at

last she hangs like a speck of white cloud just where the sea and sky come down to mingle with each other.

Then someone at my side says, “There she goes!”

Gone where?

Gone from my sight… that is all.

She is just as large in mast and hull and spar as she was when she left my side, and just as able to bear her load of living freight to the place of destination.

Her diminished size is in ME, not in her.

And just at the moment when someone at my side says, “There she goes!” There are other eyes watching her coming and other voices ready to take up the glad shout, “Here she COMES!”

Isn’t that beautiful? I’m sure that Da’MaMa would have liked being likened to a ship sailing off into heaven.

Have a great Sunday!

 

This entry was posted in Friends and Family, I'm Thankful for. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An Old Friend and a Parable

  1. caprik says:

    Love the parable AND the rekindled friendship!!

    I remember your big meanie dog!

    Your hair looks good!

  2. Penny says:

    How fun to meet up and spend some time with your best friend after so many years! Those pictures are just great. I love that parable. It’s absolutely beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing it.

  3. deb says:

    How wonderful….the found again friendship and that parable. I had visions of us sitting on the beach of Lake Michigan….

  4. Laurie says:

    I’m so glad you copied the parable on your blob as we were unable to open the e-mail version. It’s really a beautiful concept.

    And as for Barnabas and all other white rabbits: If you check out “1972 Texas Trip” on the disc Jeff put together, you will find a photo of you and Twitch in our backyard. Great pigtails, too!

Leave a Reply

