Achy

So once again Schmenky informed me that she was getting sick of not seeing a new post here on the blob.

Thanks for pushing me Schmenk.

I really don’t feel like I’ve got a whole lot to say lately so I guess I’ll try a list… it’s a short one…

1- I’ve been holed up in the ‘studio’ working on a couple of mosaics. As usual my need for realism is forcing me to nip itsy bitsy pieces of glass that makes it take me forever to finish a piece. If I EVER sell one I figure I’ll make about a dollar an hour… *sigh*

2- It’s cold here

3- My ‘studio’ has a cold concrete floor and my legs are achy, my hips are achy, my back is achy, my neck is achy.

Here’s a question for you other artists out there…

What do you do to make working on a project more comfortable?  Do you work at countertop level? Table top level? Do you sit or stand while working?

Any suggestions to make me less achy would be greatly appreciated!

4- I’m sick of being fat! So I’m back to low-carbing and exercising. This should help make me less achy. I hope.

5- Mr C. has the flu or something… he’s achy too.

That’s all I’ve got right now… I’m achy.

This entry was posted in mosaics, Odds and Ends, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Achy

  1. deb says:

    Lis, maybe you should ease into this mosaicing for long stretches…kind of like the reverse of too much exercise, but still will make you achey. Do you have a portable heater?

  2. caprik says:

    Woo Hoo, a new post!!!

    I agree with Deb, a heater would make you cozier. I find doing any craft for long periods makes you somewhat achy. We must be concentrating so hard that we freeze in the same position.
    I would say get up and move around more frequently. Plus switch it up. Stand a bit, sit a bit, snuggle a kitty a bit……

  3. Laurie says:

    I agree with Kelly about “switching” — I usually work at tabletop level but frequently stand to cut glass and it gives me a little different perspective on what I’ve been doing (which isn’t much lately!!!) Also agree warmth underneath you would help: a heater, cheap rug, whatever. Cold might be good to put on the “achys” but working in the cold might be contributing to them.

  4. caprilis says:

    I have been using a heater. I even lit the woodstove today. I think I’ll spend part of the weekend reworking the surface areas down there. I think raising the actual spot where I’m working will help alot.

Leave a Reply

