Bitter-Sweet

The past couple of weeks have gone by in a blur. A blur of laughter and tears.

Our family lost it’s ‘heart’ on December 26th. My mother, our mother, passed away peacefully early that morning.

It was her greatest wish for Christmas. She was tired, she was ready.

I wasn’t ready, I guess no one is ever ready to lose their mom.

Capri D and Capri K both wrote beautiful tributes to her on their blogs…

click here and here

and here  to read them.

I am so thankful that I was able to be with my mom on her last days here with us.

I’m so glad that our last words to each other were “I love you”

I’m especially thankful that I was able to tell her that she was the bestest mom in the world.

On Christmas day she was surrounded by her children and grandchildren. She was aware that our love surrounded her and she kept her sense of humor even as she struggled for every breath.

All six of her children came together with love to bid her farewell at a ‘bomb-fire’, mom HATED funerals and wakes and made her wishes known, in no uncertain terms, that when she passed, she wanted a party! So that’s what we gave her.

Michigan trip Christmas 2010 040

Michigan trip Christmas 2010 038

Mom's Kids

Next August on her birthday we will all gather again to celebrate her life and have another party.

I’m sure she is pleased.

This entry was posted in Friends and Family. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Bitter-Sweet

  1. Basic Living says:

    Oh, hon. I am so very sorry for your loss. And I am so touched by the way you are handling it. My heart just aches for you right now, even though I understand your mom would not want that. I know she would be so proud that all of you are celebrating her life. (((hugs)))

  2. kolar_bear says:

    I’m so glad I got to spend time with you and the rest of the family. It was nice to share memories of grandma ( and drink wine) 🙂 I love you lots and lots!

  3. Michele says:

    Lisa, I am so sorry to hear of your loss… but I am so happy for you to have spent such quality time with your Mother before she passed on. My thoughts and prayers are with you… ❤

  4. caprik says:

    Miss you already Schmenky.
    You all did Da’Mama proud!
    Love you all.

  5. Sharon says:

    Lis…..
    I’m so sorry to hear about your mom… She lived a great life and I see from your blog and Pictures that you had alot of good times with your family….. Remember all the good memories that you have…. But, the best thing is you got to say you loved her……

  6. Zona says:

    What a beautiful post, Lisa. I agree that one is probably never ready to lose their mom but I’m so glad it was peaceful for her and she was surrounded by love.

    Hugs,
    Jill

  7. warren says:

    Sorry for your loss but so glad you were able to have a party! I am certain that you enjoyed sharing memories and thinking about her rather than only having a funeral. Good on you folks and recount every memory every year!

  8. caprilis says:

    Thanks Warren, we will!

  9. Anne Marie says:

    I am so sorry for your lost…and so sorry I saw it this late. Hugs and prayers for you and your family….

Leave a Reply

