A Splendiferous Day

Mr C and I had a goof-off day today, it was wonderful!

First off we went to the Festival of Leaves in downtown Front Royal.

There was a good turn out for the parade

Festival of Leaves 2010 006

Festival of Leaves 2010 003

Festival of Leaves 2010 004

I got to meet a wonderful artist, Sherie, from our old stompin grounds in Greensboro N.C.

Her work is awesome, incredibly detailed! Check her out here

Also got to say hello to Michele who will be painting a portrait of Paddy for me at some point. I guess I need to bug her more!

I’ve talked about her work before but if you haven’t seen her murals, go look here

Wish I would have thought to get a picture of them… we even talked about my camera…sheesh!

We also met Melissa from The Wild Hare.

She dyes and spins her own yarns.

Festival of Leaves 2010 010

She turns this

Festival of Leaves 2010 012

into this

Festival of Leaves 2010 011

Look at these beautiful colors!

Festival of Leaves 2010 007

Festival of Leaves 2010 008

Festival of Leaves 2010 009

She also makes these funky felted swiss cheese scarves

Festival of Leaves 2010 013

After we left the festival we went to our favorite Mexican restaurant for lunch before we headed to  Posey Thisisit Llama farm where they were having an open farm day. Got to visit lots of beautiful llamas! They are very cool animals, you know I want some! Along with Alpacas of course!

Festival of Leaves 2010 016

Festival of Leaves 2010 023

Festival of Leaves 2010 026

They also had yarn, made from llama hair!

Festival of Leaves 2010 021

There were also some sweet goats to visit

Festival of Leaves 2010 019

Festival of Leaves 2010 020

Festival of Leaves 2010 018

It was truly a splendiferous day!

 

This entry was posted in I'm Thankful for, Odds and Ends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Splendiferous Day

  1. caprik says:

    PERFECTLY splendiferous!!
    Crafts, animals and Mexican food? Who could ask for more?

  2. Michele says:

    I, for one, am glad you “forgot” to get Sherie’s and my photo 😉 It was great to see you, as always, and thanks for the links!! Yes, I very much want to paint Paddy’s portrait for you, and yes, you do have to bug me more 🙂

  3. Sherie says:

    Michele is the one who told me to never pass up a photo opp. 😉 It was very nice to meet you and your husband, Lisa. I’m glad you stopped by. It’s always great to meet in person the people I’ve been chatting with on line. Love your blog, btw. I bookmarked it on my daily reading list.

    • caprilis says:

      Thanks Sherie, it was great to meet you too. Sounds like you and Michele had a crazy-fun time together… gotta love friends like that!

Leave a Reply

