It ALMOST Makes Me Want to Grow Them at Home

I maintain a rose garden at Chesley.

It has always been a thorn in my side. (haha)

I’ve had good years and bad years. So far this year is promising. I only lost two over the winter, compared to years where I’ve lost 15 or more!

I think roses are beautiful, but keeping them healthy, blooming, disease and pest free is. most of the time, a losing battle in this climate.

I usually have a decent spring bloom. But then the deer move in for the buffet along with the Japanese beetles and aphids. The humidity makes  black spot and fungus an ongoing battle. To keep the plants looking as good as possible I have to use chemical warfare, which is something I hate to do. I find myself rushing to rinse off a preying mantis or toad or other creature that inadvertently gets sprayed in the process on a regular basis. I do my best to keep spraying at a minimum but I can’t avoid it all together.

Anyway, that is why I don’t do roses in my own garden. I have this single climbing New Dawn on the trellis as you enter the hillside garden it never gets sprayed.

100_4102  

Well, I do have two other climbers on my fence but there aren’t even worth picturing.

When I see the roses at Chesley looking like this though, I almost  want to add a few to my garden

100_4085

100_4081

100_4083

100_4088

100_4092 100_4074 100_4087 100_4091

100_4078 100_4077

In other news at Chesley, Angel has left his two Canadian companions to take up nanny duties for a pair of different Canadians that brought their babies to the pond. Angel constantly follows the family around and keeps watch for danger. If anything is out of order he loudly warns everyone to be aware!

100_4094

100_4095

He is so funny!

This entry was posted in Chesley. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It ALMOST Makes Me Want to Grow Them at Home

  1. Laurie says:

    Beautiful blossoms. And it was good to get an update on Angel — looks like he’s found a niche.

  2. deb says:

    Very lovely, but I totally agree with you on the rose issue. I wonder about those new magic carpet roses…they are like everblooming shrub roses, have you tried them?

  3. caprik says:

    They are loverly!
    You do good work!
    Glad Angel is making himself useful. Everybody needs something to do!

Leave a Reply

