Look Who Is Livin in Paddy’s Place

We never disassembled Paddy’s outdoor enclosure because we just aren’t sure what the future will bring. It is always very sad to look out there and see the emptiness that mirrors the empty place in my heart.
But, I got a call from the wildlife center that they had a domestic goose brought in that they needed to place somewhere. First I tried to get the Crazy Dog Family to take it to put in with the Duck-Dogs; but the enclosure that they are in is just a bit small. (for now)
My plan B was to release it at Chesley to live with Lucy.
But I was intrigued by the curly feathers on it’s wings…

and also on it’s back… the feathers just don’t lay smoothly down as you see on most geese…

I knew that I had seen pictures of geese with curly feathers in one of my poultry catalogs so I googled it… and found out about Sabastopol Geese
Now clearly this goose’s feathers are not that curly, so I’m guessing it is a cross of a Sabastopol and an Embden goose

Anyway, after doing some research, I discovered that the curly feathers on this goose requires it to have some type of shelter in the winter as the water and cold is able to penetrate through the feathers and they are susceptible to freezing without shelter.
There is no shelter at Chesley… enough said.

Looks like Paddy’s place won’t be empty now.

MR.C declared that it shouldn’t be all alone and that we needed to go and get a valley trader to see if anyone has a friend for it. I do soooooooo love that man!

As you may have noticed, I’ve referred to the goose as “it” because we don’t know the gender. Will have to do more research into finding that out so we can determine a name for ‘it’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Look Who Is Livin in Paddy’s Place

  1. deb says:

    That is a handsome/lovely goose. And fortunate one.

  2. caprik says:

    “It” is very cute! And blessed to have your shelter.

  3. Laurie --sister says:

    Beautiful bird. Since it might be a bastardized Sapastopol goose, and if he’s a boy, I suggest you name him “Sebastian ” (That gets the sounds of Sapastopol and bastard together.) I don’t mean to reflect on its parents marital status!!!!

  4. Jane says:

    Can’t believe your Mister C encouraging a friend for your new duck… I’d say you had a keeper for a Mr. Your duck does have some curly plummage.. would only stand to reason he wouldn’t be so waterproof.

  5. caprip says:

    Name it “Goggle” LOL!!

  6. warren says:

    That’s a good step for you folks I think…keep it up!

  7. Vickie says:

    Bless you for opening Paddy’s home to help another. And Mr. C for thinking up the companion.
    KUP – chitnchat

Leave a Reply

