Way Back Winter

This latest snowfall here on The Hill helped me recall some of the big snowfalls of my childhood.
This is the house I grew up in in Detroit. Hard to believe that my parents raised six children in this tiny little bungalow!

It’s hard to tell, but I assume this is my dad shoveling snow off of the back porch roof…

See those tree tops above the house???
When I was little. every house on our street had a HUGE Elm tree in front of their houses. The tops grew together to form a beautiful tunnel. Detroit was beautiful way back when.
Dutch Elm disease hit our neighborhoods hard and it seemed to me that after the trees were cut down the whole city went down hill from there. It was never the same.
I’m glad my Dad was a picture taker and recorded the trees because they hold many happy memories for me.

This entry was posted in Way Back When-sday. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Way Back Winter

  1. caprik says:

    Doesn’t it seem like we had a lot more snow when we were kids? Or it stuck around longer.

    Your house looks like our house in Redford. Six kids??!! I could hardly squeeze one in there!

    Our street on Appleton had a beautiful tree canopy as well. They must not have been elm, because they were still there in the late 8o’s.

    Merry Christmas, snow bunny!

  2. Laurie --sister says:

    Thanks for the memories, Lisa. My favorite thing about all those trees was the leaves they dropped in the fall — we’d rake them into the street and burn them. Sometimes, even roast a hot dog or marshmallow or potato. I’ll never forget the smell of those leaves burning and the neighbors visiting with each other as we all cleaned up our yards.

  3. warren says:

    We still have trees here and it is so comforting to walk down the street among them…fortunately, they are oaks!

    Anyhow, thanks for the trip back!

  4. Jane says:

    I’ve been catching up on your posts !! You go girl, with the WII thingy! I’ve heard nothing but FUN about having it! I’ve caught up on your posts and wanted to buzz in here and wish you and your hubs a happy new year! Dang, you were slammed with “S”. This post hit home!!! We were probably neighbors in Detroit, I grew up on W Outer Drive. My Dad worked as Forestry Manager for Detroits Parks and Recreation. He hated to be in charge of the crews cutting down OUR FATED ELMS !!! My memories are vivid of ice skating and tobagganing at Rouge Park. Did you live by there??? If so. SMALL world, eh? Many good wishes to you for the New Year !!

Leave a Reply

