Checking In

10 days and counting… still full of snot,coughing, and sneezing but trying to live the day-to-day with heavy amounts of decongestants and neti pot rinses. (Couldn’t find the hose adapter Warren… maybe you could make me one?!) lol
I kindly ‘gave’ my germs to Mr.C. but after only three days he is already throwing it. (Must be the beer)

Sorry I missed your call Sister Laura-belle… thanks for worrying about me!

Got rained out of work today. Mr. C took the day off too and we went to Costco, The Big Cheap Store, and The Trough! A good day.. although Mr. C made out way better than me at all three places.
SOOOOOO not fair!

I’m still struggling with the loss of Paddy every day, but it’s not as hard to look at her pictures and I’m able to remember her without falling apart…. most of the time.
Last weekend I went to the “Call Of the Wild’ rehabilitators conference in Waynesboro Virginia with my friend Stacey. It was very interesting and I managed to tell Paddy’s story to a couple of wildlife vets (without breaking down)… they both agreed that it was a totally unforeseeable tragedy. I did put my name on the updated list of rehabilitators with the notation that I can take orphaned beavers. I’m not sure that was the best decision… but then again, if not ME… than WHO? I guess I need to risk my heart in order to have the pure JOY that Paddy brought to our lives. As long as I have the wonderful support system of Mr.C, my family and cherished friends to support me I’m able to say that I’ll do it all again. Thank you all for your prayers and support. I love you.

This entry was posted in Odds and Ends, Paddy the Baby Beaver Chronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Checking In

  1. For many reasons, putting your name on that list, though I know was hard for you, was the best news I’ve heard in awhile! That you still have that nasty cold/flu is terrible. I hope you’re at the tail end!

  2. deb says:

    So sorry you are still a schnottery Schmenkman. A brave thing you have done, and a decision that must have come from a place inside that knows what is good, true and right.

  3. caprik says:

    Do you think you had the swine flu?
    I am SO SORRY you are still feeling poorly! I figured that you were just on the mend. I hope you kick it, PRONTO!!!!

    Let’s pray that there are no orphaned beavers. That seems to be the best solution all around.

    I’m glad you posted, I was missing you.

  4. wfp94 says:

    meh…turns out they were made in China and violated the lead standard…better luck next time!

Leave a Reply

