And the excitement continues….

So after the bear sighting the other night, Mr. C and I decided that it would be fun to go and get one of those trail cameras that are motion activated so we could see if we could catch the bear in the act of raiding the birdfeeder. We went and got the least expensive one available and got it all set up yesterday.
We woke up this morning and checked to see if the feeders had been pulled down but no luck. We had our coffee and watched the news and then Mr. C left for work. Less than 10 minutes later I grabbed my keys and headed towards the door myself, I just happened to glance out the kitchen window and saw…
yes, you guessed it…
THE BEAR!!!
Although I’m pretty sure this one is not the same one we saw the other day… it looked bigger… of course it was a LOT closer too!
I grabbed my camera and video camera and stepped out onto the deck quietly and started taking pictures. The bear was oblivious as he gently sat down and softly licked the sunflower seeds out of the feeder.
Birdfeeder Bear 004
Birdfeeder Bear 007
Birdfeeder Bear 016
Birdfeeder Bear 019

When he emptied the feeder he just ambled off through the yard, jumped the fence and crossed our road. Probably onto the next stop in his birdfeeder route
Birdfeeder Bear 021
Birdfeeder Bear 022
Birdfeeder Bear 023
BYE Mr. Bear! (I’m just guessing it’s a MR. could be a Mrs too)
I took all of these shots with my camera. I’m saving the honor of opening the pics that the trail camera got for Mr. C. I’m so sorry he missed this. Poor guy, if only he hadn’t been in such a rush to get to work this morning! There should be some good shots on that camera if we got it set up right!

The Capris are planning on coming for another visit soon… wonder if I’ll be able to convince anyone to sleep in the camper as we always set it up about 10 feet from the birdfeeders!

P.S. I have more exciting news to share but I’m going to save it for another day since I usually don’t have anything worthy to post about!

This entry was posted in Sassy Cat Hill House, Gardens and Other Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And the excitement continues….

  1. Capri P says:

    welllllll……….that’s mean!! How exciting though…… I will sleep in the camper..bears don’t scare me……too much

  2. deb says:

    That looks like a pretty big bear! When it comes to wildlife spotting, you got all the luck.

  3. deb says:

    What kind of exciting news? You should not have put that teaser out!

  4. caprik says:

    I was thinking the exciting news was the Bear Cam!Cub Skype?

    There’s bears in dem dar hills!!!I like the one of the bear sitting on his bottom.

    I don’t want to sleep in the camper. Thank you.

  5. warren says:

    Awesome! Did he/she destroy the feeders? They hit my parents’ place all the time and destroy the feeders…and the trash cans…and anything else even remotely looking like food!

    Anyhow, can’t wait to hear the other news and see the other pics!

Leave a Reply

