Cuteness X Six

My days are revolving around the babies these days. I’d forgotten how tiresome it is to get formula ready and do the breakfast feeding and cleaning before I’ve even had my own coffee!
I’m usually pretty grumpy until I pick up that first one and then the cuteness makes everything all good again.
I take them one by one and feed them, help them go potty and then put them into a tupperware container until each one is finished.
“Little -Bit”, the youngest one, usually gets fed first. He is so tiny and his fingernails are amazing…
squirrel babies 002
While they’re all in the tupperware, I clean the ‘nest box’ (a small pet carrier).
After getting their bellies filled they quickly snuggle in and go back to sleep until the next feeding time. Here they are in the tupperware waiting to be returned ‘home’ to sleep.
squirrel babies 005

All of them except Little-Bit have opened their eyes now. It’s kind of cool to see them open for the first time ever, clearly unfocused, foggy and blinky. Then, the next time you pick them up you can tell they are really seeing things! Once that happens they start to become much more active and curious.

Today we are taking Paddy on a field trip to swim in a real pond at Chesley! It should be fun, definitly interesting! Pics will follow!

This entry was posted in Paddy the Baby Beaver Chronicles, Wildlife Center. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cuteness X Six

  1. Steph says:

    Oh my goodness, I can’t get over how freaking adorable they are!! That alone would make up for the extra work!

  2. deb says:

    I have to admit, they are pretty darn cute all nested together in the towel.

  3. caprik says:

    They are precious, their tails are looking less snake-y!

  4. Super cute! Anxious for my turn feeding them. šŸ™‚ How did Miss Paddy do at Chesley? Did she keep you out there longer than you expected? Hehe..

  5. Angie says:

    My grandmother raised her share squirrels over the years. Once she had an elaborate pen on her porch so they could climb and play. Lots of work but rewarding at the same time to nurture life.

  6. warren says:

    They are soooo cute. I’d never get anything done for all the staring at them I’d do!

Leave a Reply

