Larn sumthin new ever day

(That title was a poor attempt at a long slow southern farmer’s drawl)

Anyway, I’ve had chickens for quite a number of years now and this is the first time this particular issue has come up!
chickens09 028

Poor Kowalski! I don’t even know how the poor guy ate with that over grown beak! With his ‘hairdo’ I didn’t see this going on until recently.
I knew that other bird breeds need beak trims sometimes but none of the other chickens have ever had this problem.

So I googled (or as DaMaMa would say “goggled”) trimming a chickens beak and got the info I needed. Just like trimming a toenail it said.
So I borrowed the crazy dog lady’s dog nail trimmers (cuz cat trimmers seemed to small for the job), collected Mr. K and prepared myself for a battle roy-al!

Well let me tell you, it was a TOTAL…

… non-event. The boy sat as still as a statue and never even squawked! Such an angel he is!
So here’s how he looks now…
chickens09 029

No blood was involved for either of us so I pronounce the procedure a resounding success!
He’s so much handsomer now after his nose job don’tcha think?
chickens09 031

This entry was posted in Chickens, Sassy Cat Hill House, Gardens and Other Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Larn sumthin new ever day

  1. caprik says:

    He is EVER so handsome with his rhinoplasty. Or should I say “roostoplasty”?

  2. deb says:

    Well, I declare, that is really sumpthin.

Leave a Reply

