Way Back When-sday /Daddy’s Garden

Each year, as I till the soil in the veggie garden, I always dream that this will be the year that I achieve garden perfection… the way I remember my Daddy’s garden.
I’ve wondered if my memories were correct since I’ve come to believe that ‘perfection’ in the garden (at least without a team of full time gardeners)isn’t possible.
Then I came across this photo…
img_9298
Just as I remembered! Perfect, soldier straight rows. Perfectly constructed support systems for the tomatoes. Perfect pathways to allow for easy picking. Perfectly edged. Perfectly WEEDLESS!
And notice the lawn… my Dad’s lawn was legendary… perfection in a mix of annual and perennial rye, never a weed, hand-mowed; kept at an inch long, it rivaled a golf course green.
I’m not sure how he did it, I don’t think I’ll ever achieve it, but it’s nice to know that it is possible and have something to strive for.

Check out other Way Back When-sday posts at Life In Stitches and share your own memories!

This entry was posted in Way Back When-sday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Way Back When-sday /Daddy’s Garden

  1. deb says:

    I remember too! I brought my grandfather to your house once, and I do think that’s when he decided that I was dating the right person. He loved your dad’s lawn and garden.

  2. warren says:

    Rats…my dad and grandpa had perfect looking gardens too…and you just confirmed that they probably really were perfect…

  3. caprik says:

    I’d better not let Honey see this, it would inflame the Old Italian-Belgian Man’s heart to rip up the yard and try to compete!!!
    It’s loverly!

  4. Steph says:

    I always heard about grandpa’s gardens, but have never actually seen a picture…it’s flawless!

Leave a Reply

