Surgery Update … Disclaimer *Gross Pics!*

So I’ve been feeling pretty loopy on the pain killers that were provided after surgery.

The out come is both good and bad news.

First, the bad… the scar is bigger than anticipated. Not a big deal.

The good, no repairs were needed… just removal!

As it turns out I grew myself an extra tendon in my ankle that had grown around the two that are supposed to be in there and had become inflamed. Someone proclaimed me a “mutant”, someone else proclaimed me a “medical wonder!” I like the second one better.

Anyway, he found both ends of the offending tendon and snipped it outta there and sewed me up.

Recovery time should be shorter since there were no repairs involved. I got a walking boot yesterday at my follow-up appointment and he told me to start putting weight on it as soon as I’m comfortable doing that. So far… not comfortable!

Stitches come out on the 18th.

Now for the pics… beware!

He drew a cute monkey face  (or something) on my foot so he knew he was operating on the correct foot!

DSCN9540

And here’s my purty scar.

DSCN9541

DSCN9539

And my oh-so-attractive footwear

DSCN9542

And just so we don’t end with that ugliness… my sickbed…

DSCN9538

Thanks for the prayers and good vibes!

And extra special thanks to my handsome nurse, Mr.C, who has taken wonderful care of me during this whole ordeal!

Love y’all!

 

This entry was posted in Around the House, I'm Thankful for, Odds and Ends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surgery Update … Disclaimer *Gross Pics!*

  1. Penny says:

    So happy the surgery went well! Your poor foot/ankle though……..that boot will eventually be a hero. You do have a very handsome and capable caretaker though! But about that sick bed…..it appears a little full!

  2. Capri K says:

    That is a very puffy ankle! You can say you got your scar in the war! I believe I said you were a mutant, like The X-Men, not the garden variety mutant! Is there room in the bed for you and your boot? Nurse C is a big old hunk of honey!!!!!!!

  3. Barb says:

    So happy the surgery was successful! Between Nurse C and all the feline nurses, you will be well cared-for! Just take it easy and don’t try to do too much too soon!

Leave a Reply

